RPRF Request Letter

*RPRF – Right of Permanent Residence Fee

Prior to submitting your CIC application, you have the option to pay RPRF upfront or RPRF Later. The former will give you a faster processing according to CIC guidelines. Currently, the trending is not clear. Whether you pay  upfront or later, it will still depend on the assigned visa office of your application (refer to my timeline).

We opted to pay RPRF Later for two reasons: 1) we want to have an idea on the progress of our application ; and 2) we need to manage our cash flows.

RPRF means that they have found your application eligible and “possible” due for admissibility review (security, criminality and/or medical). I highlighted “possible” because prior to BG check in progress, they will go over your application again.
******
eligibilityjpg.jpg
******
MYCIC Notification (You have a new message)
For your information, the RPRF Letter gives you a hint which visa office is processing your application. If you have received a RPRF Letter shown below, obviously your application is in the local visa office. However, if you have a “standard” RPRF Letter, the latter won’t specify anything about the visa office. If it is silent, your application is under OTTAWA VO. The local VO gives you a 30-day deadline while Ottawa VO is for 7 days only. You may refer to the following screenshots to compare the RPRF Letters issued by Manila & Ottawa Visa Offices:
rprf-page-1-manila-vo
rprf-page-2-manila-vo
  • Sample Ottawa RPRF Letter (from my first application):
rprf-rejected-app
How to Pay
Per RPRF Letter, the instruction will require you to login using your MYCIC Account. I had a hard time looking for the RPRF link in MYCIC Page. It was not actually there!
Here’s the link:
You need to create a new login ID and password for you to proceed.
2016-09-29 08_36_54-On-Line Services.jpg
Just follow the instructions once logged in, file and pay the RPRF. A computer generated OR will be shown in the screen (plus an email). That will be your proof of payment.
Sample OR:
rprf ORjpg.jpg
RPRF Instructions
  • After payment, we were advised by the Manila Visa Office to email the proof of payment to them.
  • Since there is an automatic upload field for the RPRF in MYCIC Account, we still uploaded the proof. While we paid 2 applications under a single transaction (so only one official receipt), we inserted an LOE specifiying that we already paid for 2 applicants and uploaded this LOE & proof of receipt to both of the 2 fields available. I repeat if your RPRF Letter does not specify any Local VO, yours is being processed in the Ottawa VO. So proof of payment instruction is to upload it in MYCIC Account.

rprf-upload-field

  • An RPRF request does not automatically mean that you are going to receive a PPR Soon! During this stage you only passed the completeness and R-10 Check. Eligibility test again may still be performed prior to Background Check. I paid RPRF after request in my first application. I never crossed the BG Status. So it’s not a guarantee.

21 thoughts on “RPRF Request Letter

  1. Hi Gray Ninja,

    Thanks for your informative post.

    I recently just submitted my application but did not include RPRF fee. I’d like to pay it now if it will avert delays with my application. Do I need to wait for CIC to request for it? If I pay now, will it link to my already submitted application?

    What are your thoughts?

    Thanks!

    Like

  2. Hi Gray,
    I have got a message on my CIC account to submit a proof of medical exam completion within 30 days, does this mean the emedical tracking sheet I recieved from the hospital ?

    One more question, the field available for uploading documents is only under my name (main applicant) and not available for other family members, so they only asking for my emedical document and not for my wife and dependents ?

    Like

  3. Hi Gray Ninja,

    Thank you for this post as it is definitely helpful. I would just like to clarify how long will i need to wait for the medical examination request after paying the RPRF. The letter I requested is exactly the same as the first sample you’ve shown which is from Manila, however i was informed by one of my friends that request for medical usually follows after 72 hours but I have been waiting for longer than that and up until now i still haven’t received any reply apart from the confirmation of receipt of the RPRF payment…

    I am hoping for your reply

    Like

  4. Hello. I received a request for RPRF alone last March 15, 2017. I paid it last March 22, 2017. From then on, i haven’t receive any update yet. What do you advice? Thank you

    Like

  5. Hi Gray,
    This post was helpful in clarifying the doubts which I had post fee was charged to my CC on 22nd May. I completed my Medical and PCC and shared the completed documents on 6th March 2017.
    Any idea about the turn around time post RPRF.

    Like

  6. Hi Gray,

    Do I still need to email the RPRF OR to the email address even if I just uploaded it in my CIC account? In the letter there is an instructions to choose only ONE channel in sending the additional docs. What are your thoughts please? Thanks

    Like

  7. Hey i need to know when will i get the Application no (UCI no). I submitted my application to CIC on 12 May…

    Like

  8. Hi – thank you Gray Ninja for this detailed blog. I have been instructed to pay the RPRF. I wanted to check with regards to the LOE – do we merge it with the Official Receipt and upload as 1 document in both the fields? OR do we get a separate option to upload the LOE separately from the receipt?.
    Thanks once again!

    Like

  9. Hi Sir,
    I have submitted PR file(after CSQ) on Nov’16 to Novascotia, and file received in office on 29th of Nov’16.Initial stage only we are submitted Medical and PCC of India. And we got file no. confirmation on 23.02.2017 and file processing started on 01.03.2017 as per “My application Status” . In mid of March-2017 they are requested to submit RPRF and outside country PCC . Accordingly we are submitted RPRF and PCC outside country on 26th of March to Delhi-Immigration office. They received courier on 29th of March-2017 .
    When we will receive Passport request . please confirm.

    Like

  10. hello. I received a letter from cic, that I need to pay for my RPRF, when I am about to pay for it online it also said in the option to pay for the processing fee which i already pay it before i submit my application via mail. What will I do? thanks in advance.

    Like

  11. hi
    i recently received request for RPRF saying RPRF for prime applicant.
    Can RPRF be requested only to prime applicant and not the dependent (spouse) in any case ?
    urgent reply appreciated
    Regards
    Gary

    Like

Leave a comment